33% Complete

Leave a comment

August 29, 2013 by epaduani

Today I made my 33rd loaf of bread from “Beard on Bread”, which means I have reached the 1/3rd point of my journey to make all 100 breads from this classic cookbook. I know that 33% isn’t exactly a “standard” milestone, but I figured I would celebrate it anyway.  It’s kind of like the sprint stages in the Tour de France bicycle race.  At a certain point in a 150 mile stage they will have a random “sprint stage” set up where the riders will sprint for a mile or two and then pass under this grand “finish line” to celebrate the sprint winner.  Sure, it’s mindless (and perhaps slightly pointless) praise for a guy who might end up finishing 30th that day, but he celebrates his accomplishment just as much as the overall winner does.  I’ll consider this my mid-race sprint stage.

My move to Florida a few months back definitely set me back in terms of getting them all done in one year, but at least I’m back to baking and making progress towards my goal. My progress reminds me of Dr. Martin Luther King’s speech about how “If you can’t fly then run, if you can’t run then walk, if you can’t walk then crawl, but whatever you do you have to keep moving forward.”  I might not be running towards 100, but I’m moving forward in the right direction.
Happy Baking!

Leave a Reply

